Sandy Fambrough has spent the past 25 years working exclusively in the disability field. She started her career as an examiner for Disability Determinations Services in Louisiana where she spent 3 ½ years learning the process from the inside. She then entered the private sector and worked as an advocate for a company that assisted hospital patients in applying for benefits, including SSDI and SSI. Through other jobs, she learned how private disability claims are handled by the insurance industry and the interaction between those policies and Social Security disability benefits.

For more than 20 years, she has handled Social Security disability claims at all administrative levels. In addition to being a representative, she has spent many years as a trainer, including developing and presenting training sessions to employees and the community. In July 2005, she was one of the first non-attorney representatives to become eligible for direct fee withholding under the updated Social Security law. In 2007, she was selected by SSA to help with the creation of what is now the Appointed Representative Services (ARS), and she continue to provide feedback to SSA on updates to ARS through regular meetings.

Ms. Fambrough is a member of the National Association of Disability Representatives and served on their Board of Directors for 5 years. She has been a presenter at several annual conferences, assisted with the study classes for the annual SSA exam and served on numerous committees.

Outside of work, her other passion is animal rescue. She currently is an adoption counselor for Humane Tomorrow and a volunteer with Duck Team 6 (animal rescue groups in the Dallas Texas area). In 2014, she was appointed to the Animal Services Board in her town and is currently vice-chair.


B.A. – Austin College, Sherman Texas
Honors – Dean’s List
Major – History

Professional Associations and Memberships

National Association of Disability Representatives (NADR)

Honors and Awards

Al Gonzales Distinguished Service Award (NADR), 2014
SSA Certificate of Appreciation, 2008