We do not request reimbursement of costs
(such as repayment for obtaining medical records)
from veterans nor from people who suffer from multiple sclerosis.

Disability Over 50 Program

Social Security Disability Over the Age of 50

Social Security Disability Program plays a crucial role in giving financial strength to applicants and his/her family members. The Social Security Administration grants disability benefits to people over 50 years of age by following a certain set of rules. The SSA revealed that, as of June 2013, over 8.9 million disabled workers were receiving disability benefits. The amount of average monthly benefit was $1,129.

If you are a person over 50 and want to apply for disability benefits, knowing essential rules can be helpful. SSA treats older workers more favorably. Getting approved for disability benefits at the age of 50 or older can be a relatively hassle-free process.

Disability for People Over 50

Administered by the Social Security Administration, social security disability delivers regular monthly payments to those in need. These payments vary based on a variety of factors. However, all payments have one thing in common; they are determined based on a uniquely strict set of criteria.

The criteria established by the Social Security Administration for qualification differs between two programs.

  • The first program is Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), designed for disabled workers.
  • The second program is Supplemental Security Income (SSI), designed for people of limited means.
  • Both programs rely on the same strict definition for ‘disability.’

As we age, we inevitably become more susceptible to health issues. Many people in their 50s will begin to deal with such problems. Disability onset can be slow or swift. It can be daunting and crippling.Fortunately, Social Security for those over the age of 50 is available.In fact, people in their 50s have better options now than ever before. If you or someone you know is over age 50, help is available.

The Social Security Administration has now made applying for disability over 50 Program easier. These changes reflect an increased awareness of aging populations.

The Social Security Administration’s new framework is more realistic. It gives those that are 50 years or older more opportunities for disability benefits.

Social Security Disability Rules After Age 50

If an individual does not meet the criteria for a medical impairment listing, the Social Security Administration uses a grid of rules to determine an individual’s eligibility for disability benefits. It is important that every applicant understand the criteria that is taken into consideration. The Social Security Administration will consider the claimant’s age, and the four aspects of the claimant’s comprehensive profile.

These dimensions include following essentials of the applicant:

  • Residual Functional Capacity (RFC) – the maximum work you can perform with your limitations
  • Education level
  • Prior work skill level, and
  • Transfer ability of prior work skills

The Social Security Administration is mainly focused on the claimant’s RFC. The Residual Functional Capacity takes into account the applicant’s ability to work and exercise strength. These ‘exertional’ limits are based on what the applicant can achieve consistently.

RFC levels range from sedentary work and light work, all the way up to heavy work and very heavy work. Some capacities only allow sitting down and typing. Other capacities mean that the claimant can do heavy lifting and moving.

Lower RFCs may make it easier for applicants to receive Disability Benefits Over 50

The Social Security Administration also carefully examines your skills. You can be determined unskilled, semi-skilled, and skilled. More technical, complicated jobs are typically considered skilled. More menial, basic jobs are considered unskilled.

These categories are often based on the classifications of the Department of Labor. You will also be assessed on the transfer ability of your skills. Typically, workers who performed skilled labor may be able to transfer those skills to semi-skilled and unskilled labor.

4 categories of Functioning capacity application for people over 50

The functioning capacity used by the SSA has four categories. They are generally defined by the amount a person is required to lift. Listed below are the four categories:

  • Sedentary involves lifting less than ten pounds
  • Light involves lifting of ten pounds most of the time, and up to 20 pounds occasionally
  • Medium Twenty-five pounds is the limit for frequent lifting and up to fifty pounds for occasional lifting.
  • Heavy – more than fifty pounds is the limit for frequent lifting.

The Social Security Administration will factor in all of these variables in order to make a determination. For people over 50, the Medical-Vocational Grid may be more lenient. This is because the Social Security Administration categorizes people from age 50-54 as “closely approaching advanced age.”

Disability Benefits over age 50

  • It is easier to obtain social security disability (SSD) and SSI benefits after the age of 50. Typically, the rules do become more favorable in terms of work potential. After all, the Social Security Administration routinely evaluates applicants based on their capacity for “gainful” employment.
  • Often, an applicant’s disability may match one of the Social Security Administration’s listed disabilities. If you meet one of these listings, you essentially have a disability that the Social Security Administration formally recognizes. Each disability listed by the Social Security Administration is considered a “medically determinable impairment.” Many people over 50 may have such an impairment.
  • Applicants for Social Security Disability over 50 can also “equal” a listing. If the combined impairments of the applicant are as severe as a listed condition, then the impairments are considered equivalent. Applicants may also have a single impairment that is the “equal” of a listed condition.
  • However, things are not always so easy. Oftentimes, applicants do not have a matching or equal condition. If this is the case, the Social Security Administration relies on the Medical-Vocational Grid.

Apply for your disability over 50, only after knowing all norms!

  • If you want to know more disability Over 50 Information, you can visit the official website of the SSA, and read up on the medical-vocation guidelines or “Grid Rules.” Social Security’s grid rules are a special set of evaluations used to find out people’s disability issues.
  • When you are ready to apply for disability over 50, applications are available on the SSA’s website. Or you can visit the local Social Security office to get a copy. Be sure to prepare all of your paperwork, both medical and financial, beforehand to ensure the smoothest process possible.
  • If you have any doubts about the application process, you can get assistance from representatives at the Social Security Office. You can even talk to an attorney as they are experienced in handling such cases.